Glenlola Collegiate Team Wins IET Faraday’s Challenge

On Tuesday 8 October, Bangor Grammar School hosted an IET Faraday’s Challenge.  Six Year 9 teams, from five different schools, competed to win the trophy.   Glenlola Collegiate School’s team was Caitlin Hawe, Logan Hinchcliffe, Katie Mills, Shannon North, Bailey Scott-Murphy and Erin Stewart.  The challenge required the teams to build a rocket to be launched from an air pressured launcher and a motorized vehicle to carry their rocket the three metres to the launch pad.

The teams were judged on their ideas, teamwork, budgeting, report, evaluation and their 3 minute presentation of their project.   The Glenlola Collegiate team’s vehicle quickly and efficiently carried their rocket to the launcher and their rocket flew several metres into the air.